Playlists/Soundtracks

On my list of favorite things, after writing and reading, comes music. I love music. I love singing and playing piano (for my ears only on the piano thing, usually). And, I also love to dance…Although I’m pretty sure no one wants to see that…

I need music when I’m writing. When it’s too quiet, my mind tends to wander. So I make playlists for all my WIP’s. The playlist becomes my soundtrack…so, if someday my WIP’s become movies, I’ll be all set with a list of ideas! 🙂 

Along with a super cool playlist, each of my WIP’s usually has a theme song. One song that pretty much sums up my plot. For my WIP BOUND the theme song is “That’s the Way I Loved You” by Taylor Swift. (I write YA, so of course I listen to Taylor Swift…A LOT…and I enjoy it!) I think she must have read my proposal for BOUND…seems like that song was written just for me! THANKS!

So, what about you? Do you just listen to music at random when you write, or do you make playlists/soundtracks? Or do you have to have total silence?

**If your WIP was turned into a movie, what would the theme song be?

7 thoughts on “Playlists/Soundtracks

  1. I have a playlist titled ‘writing’ just for this, and I even have theme songs too. Great post. Thanks for sharing.

  2. In my WIP, the characters like different styles of music and make mix CDs for each other, so I’m working on actually making those playlists to get inside their heads while writing. I’d say the theme song (if it were a movie) would be “I Won’t Give Up” by Jason Mraz.

Leave a Reply

