HAPPY Day 6

 

Day #6: When the College kids come back . . .

and take over Walmart!

So, yeah . . . I bet you’re wondering WHY in the world this makes me HAPPY??? I mean, having masses of college kids shopping at Walmart, takes away the peace and quiet. They do silly things, like ride carts, sing loudly, and clear the shelves faster than ants cleaning up a carcass. And they’re there 24 HOURS A DAY!

Despite all this, I love when they come back and take over Walmart. I love the excitement in the air. I love looking in their carts to see all the wonderful “essentials” they’re buying. I love seeing what they’re going to make for “dinner.” I love listening in on their conversations…

“Do whites go in by themselves or is it okay to wash them with colors?”

“If I set my oven at 5oo degrees, do you think that’s hot enough?”

“I can put tinfoil in the microwave, right?”

“How do you boil water?”

I love hearing all the different languages, wishing I could magically understand them. And I kinda get a thrill when the cashiers think I’M a COLLEGE KID! (when I’m there by myself without the kiddos…) 

I’m HAPPY because, well, I never went to college. I never had the chance to be the “annoyingly happy/obnoxious” freshman.  I didn’t get to fill my cart with mirrors, blankets, wall hanging things, microwaveable food items. I got married 2 weeks after I graduated from high school, so I was buying different things. And thankfully, I didn’t have to ask the questions about laundry, food, or basic household stuff. I was well-prepared for that. 

And, riding a cart full of babies and toddlers just isn’t the same…

So, next time you’re at Walmart and you see a mass of college kids, take a moment to breathe in their excitement! And if you’re one of these college kids, take the time to smile at people with their carts full of kids! 🙂

One thought on “HAPPY Day 6

  1. I like how you paint them in a good light. Actually, I don’t mind the college students. They don’t give me near as many problems as other shoppers.

    Happiness? Just thinking about rereading one of my favorite books. 🙂

Leave a Reply

