Inspiration and Motivation

“You can’t wait for inspiration. You have to go after it with a club.” -Jack London

What inspires you? What motivates you to write? What gets your creative juices flowing?

Lately, I’ve been having trouble finding motivation to write. My WIP is all plotted out, and I know where it’s supposed to go (which will more than likely change along the way, but at least it’s plotted). I just can’t get off the couch and away from the books I’m reading long enough to write. This time of year always creeps up on me. I get lost in my coffee cup, a warm blanket, and a good book or chick flick. There are so many distractions. . . And I’m discovering that I don’t actually like to write, I love to HAVE WRITTEN. I love the editing process. The blank page of a new WIP is scary. (Hmm…Maybe I should be a blank page for Halloween…potential…)

So, what to do . . . what to do . . . 

Here are just a few things that I do to wake up my molasses motivation:

Tip #1: Have a notebook and pen within reach. Some days I just don’t have the energy to open my laptop and wait for it to load so I can write down a sudden thought or plot twist… And by the time my laptop is in prime condition, the idea has flown the coop, never to be thought of again… 

Tip #2: Set up “Required writing” time. Set up a time every day that you force yourself to write. Even if it ends up in the burn barrel on fire, at least you are training yourself to write. It doesn’t have to be good–take that pressure off and just have fun. Write a parody, or a diary entry for the main character of your WIP. Just get writing!

Tip #3: Go out in public. Go listen to people. Being by yourself inside can suck the motivation out of you. It only takes a spark, a line, an action to get the juices flowing. Although, be warned, you may get ten new ideas for stories . . . 

Tip #4: Have coffee, go to a diner or a bookstore with a friend and tell them about your WIP. I love to spend time with people and drink coffee (food is good too). I find that when I start talking about my WIP to someone else, I get excited again and want to write. 

 

**So, what do you do to get your motivation up and running?

6 thoughts on “Inspiration and Motivation

  1. Ah, I know the feeling! I too try to have designated writing time. I suppose the other thing that I’ve learned is to go with the flow… Yesterday I sat down intending to flesh out my character summaries for the novel I’m planning. Instead, I felt a strong urge to write the short story I’d planned a while ago for submission to a competition that closes at the end of this month, but which I’d pretty much decided I wouldn’t have time to do. I opened up a new document, and the first 1,000 words just streamed out.

    The subconscious is a funny thing, but it’s worth listening when it’s trying to tell you something.

  2. What motivation? I agree, January through August I’m going strong on my writing and loving it. Then the new school year hits, I go back to work, and the desire departs. I really need to set up a time, but this time of year so many pressing things seem to need to be done for others, that I never do. We need to get together and write!

Leave a Reply

