2014 Goals For Writing

If I could sum up 2013 in two words (as pertaining to my writing career), they would be:  PROFESSIONAL WAITER. (lol, notice the coffee…could add “Professional coffee drinker” to resume too…)

This year has really stretched my patience, has grown me as a person and as a writer, and has given me quite the backbone. I’ve learned the great importance of “it takes a community to write a book.” I tried so long to be a writer all by myself–I wanted to be able to say I did it ALONE with no help from anyone! But this year has taught me that the more people I involve, the better my writing becomes. It took so much out of me to actually share my writing, to allow people to read my stuff. I shook each time I pushed the send button….but everyone who I’ve shared my writing with, has improved it in one way or another. There are still days when I jump in the worthless-writer pit and want to give up, go it alone . . .but those days have gotten less and less as I allow more people to read, edit, help, and encourage me along this writing journey. 

How about you? Where have you seen growth with your writing knowledge and actual writing?

I started 2013 finishing up a major overhaul of my YA novel, BOUND. I sent out more queries. Got a few rejections and one maybe. I connected with so many writers on FB–have really benefited from their knowledge and advice. I finished NaNoWriMo, having written 66,000 words. I got two new ideas for series, and worked on several novels that I had started… 

So, I wrote all the above to say, it’s been quite the year. I’m looking forward to 2014 and the challenges and growth that are on their way. (BTW: There are still a few more weeks of 2013 for writing news…) 

I’ve decided to make a list of my writing goals for 2014. By posting them here, I feel I’ll have some accountability. And, the best part, I can share the excitement with you all as I’m able to cross off the items!

My writing Goals (& Dreams) for 2014 

1. Finish polishing/editing BOUND. (Have the most wonderful editor!!)

2. Write 70,000 words in January (I’m doing OhNoNaNo with a group of writer friends)

3. Send out queries for BOUND . . . until I get an agent.

4. DREAM: I would love to have an agent before I’m 30 (that gives me until the end of February…) A girl can dream!

5. Write and organize the first draft of ENDICOTT. 

6. Finish the first draft of TAKEN. (sequel to BOUND)

7. Get 1-2 editing jobs. 

*I may add more as I think of them, but there are 7 to start with. 

 

So, who’s with me? What are some of your writing resolutions, goals, dreams for 2014? Share and let us cheer along with you as you accomplish each one!

 

 

Leave a Reply

